Committee Assignments

Committee Assignments

Senator John McCain is a member and former Ranking Member of the Senate Committee on Armed Services; Member and former Chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs; Member of the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs; Member of the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations.

Armed Services

The Senate Committee on Armed Services is composed of 25 Senators. This Committee has jurisdiction for aeronautical and space activities peculiar to or primarily associated with the development of weapons systems or military operations; the common defense; the Department of Defense, the Department of the Army, the Department of the Navy, and the Department of the Air Force, generally; maintenance and operation of the Panama Canal, including administration, sanitation, and government of the Canal Zone; military research and development; national security aspects of nuclear energy; naval petroleum reserves, except those in Alaska; pay, promotion, retirement, and other benefits and privileges of members of the Armed Forces, including overseas education of civilian and military dependents; selective service system; and strategic and critical materials necessary for the common defense.

Senator McCain served as Ranking Member of the Committee from 2006 to 2012.

Indian Affairs

The Senate Committee on Indian Affairs was formed in 1977 and currently has 15 members. This Committee has jurisdiction to study the unique problems of American Indian, Native Hawaiian, and Alaska Native peoples and to propose legislation to alleviate these difficulties. These issues include, but are not limited to, Indian education, economic development, land management, trust responsibilities, health care, and claims against the United States. Additionally, all legislation proposed by Members of the Senate that specifically pertains to American Indians, Native Hawaiians, or Alaska Natives is under the jurisdiction of the Committee.

Senator McCain served as Chairman of the Committee from 2005 to 2006.

Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs

The Senate Committee on Governmental Affairs was renamed as the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs in 2005 and possesses 15 members. This committee has jurisdiction for matters pertaining to homeland security, including the 9-11 Commission; the District of Columbia; government management, including E-Government, lobbying and ethics, federal contracts, and federal nominations; corporate management; environmental oversight; energy; health and public safety; civil service; and the Postal Service.

Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations

Senator McCain currently serves as Ranking Member on the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs’s chief investigative subcommittee. The subcommittee has a celebrated legacy of uncovering waste, fraud, abuse and outright corruption.

Foreign Relations

The Senate Committee on Foreign Relations was established in 1816 as one of the original committees of the Senate and possesses 18 members. This committee has oversight jurisdiction over a wide array of issues pertaining to matters abroad, including diplomatic nominations; Department of State and the Foreign Service; human rights; terrorism and non-proliferation; U.S. foreign assistance programs; promotion of U.S. trade and exports; and U.S. development policy.